THE REST OF THE STORY:
Around Prattsburgh by Lenora J. Applebee
Jared Pratt and his wife first settled in the Prattsburgh area in 1800. In 1802, Capt. Joel Pratt, Jared Pratt’s uncle, and William Root, of Albany, purchased the township from the Pulteney estate. The town was officially formed on April 12, 1813, and named after Captain Pratt. During Prattsburgh’s peak, it was a thriving place, boasting such businesses as the J.H. Frost Wagon Shop, Mrs. Clark’s Millinery, Crossman’s Blacksmith Shop, and Clary’s Cooper Shop. The number of established schoolhouses and churches in town is proof of how very important education and religion were to the early settlers. Even today, Prattsburgh’s rich agricultural history is still evident. Prattsburgh’s success gave rise to Wheeler, a town of industries such as Renchan’s Mills, a hotel, school, and general store. The remainder of the Sir William Pulteney estate became the town of Pulteney – another thriving community in its day – home to a rickshaw factory, a rattan basket factory, and many vineyards.
Lonora J. Applebee, a lifelong Prattsburgh resident, is the Prattsburgh town historian and the president of the Prattsburgh Community Historical Society. With the help of the society and their extensive collection of images, Around Prattsburgh showcases the evolution of the area and pays homage to the people instrumental in its development.
The Images of America series celebrates the history of neighborhoods, towns, and cities across the country. Using archival photographs, each title presents the distinctive stories from the past that shape the character of the community today. Arcadia is proud to play a part in the preservation of local heritage, making history available to all.